Living with gluten intolerance
If you are gluten intolerant, you can still enjoy a wide, healthy and varied diet.
Gluten is a protein that is found in wheat, barley, rye, triticale (a cross between wheat and rye) and oats.
A gluten free diet is that which is devoid of these food products. Initially, you many find it difficult following a gluten free diet. However, with time and patience as well as a bit of research and lots of label reading, you will get the hang of it. There are many foods on the market that you already eat that is actually gluten free such as rice and corn.
For the gluten products that you enjoy, you can often find a substitute.
Getting Down to the Details.
Switching from a gluten to a gluten free diet is always a big change and will take getting used it. It often helps to focus on the foods you can eat and that are not restricted. Nowadays as the percentage of people who are either diagnosed celiac or who are gluten intolerant is on the rise, so are the gluten products.
If you are just at the beginning stages of learning to be gluten free, it is a good idea to consult a dietician or nutritionist who can answer your questions and offer advice about the ins and outs of avoiding gluten whilst still eating a healthy and balanced diet.
Many healthy and delicious foods are naturally gluten-free. These include:
- Beans, seeds and nuts
- Fresh eggs
- Fresh meats, fish and poultry
- Fruits and vegetables
- Most dairy products
Many grains and starches can be part of a gluten-free diet, but it is important to read the labels and make sure they have not been mixed or processed with gluten containing grains.
- Corn and cornmeal
- Gluten-free flours (rice, soy, corn, potato, bean)
- Hominy (corn)
Printer Friendly Version
Related Modalities Nutrition